Best Crypto Cards for Everyday Use in 2026: Fees, Limits and Regional Coverage Compared

Crypto cards for everyday use: fees, limits and regional coverage

Every crypto card comparison leads with a cashback percentage, and almost none of them says what has to be locked up first. Crypto.com’s 4.5% rate requires $500,000 of CRO staked for twelve months, Nexo’s requires a $5,000 portfolio, and KAST’s 3% comes with a $10,000 annual fee, while the cards charging nothing to hold pay nothing back. Fee structure splits the field a second time, because a flat charge per transaction and a percentage of the purchase produce opposite answers above and below roughly $34. This ranking covers nine crypto card options for everyday use, comparing fees, limits and regional coverage, with the precondition attached to every advertised rate.

How these nine were ranked

Six standards, in this order, because the earlier ones eliminate more candidates.

Reachable cashback. Not the headline rate, but the rate available without staking a token, meeting a portfolio minimum or paying an annual fee. This reorders the field more than any other standard.

Recurring holding cost. Monthly and annual fees, charged whether or not the card is used.

Transaction and cross-border structure. A percentage of the purchase or a flat amount per transaction, since the two produce opposite results at different basket sizes.

ATM withdrawal cost and free allowance. Several issuers tier this by loyalty level, and it is where some recover what they give away on FX.

Country availability. The hard filter, which ends the comparison for anyone excluded before any fee matters.

Ranking runs on value obtainable without committing capital, since a card paying 4.5% to holders of half a million dollars in a volatile token is not competing for the same reader as one paying 1.5% to anyone.

Nine cards compared

Cashback, and what has to be committed to earn it

CardCashbackWhat it requiresRecurring fee
KAST Standard1.5%, uncappedNothing beyond the free tierFree
MetaMask Card1% virtual, 3% on first $10,000 then 1% metalNothing statedNot stated
Nexo CardUp to 2% in NEXO, or 0.5% in BTC$5,000 portfolio minimumNo monthly, annual or inactivity fee
Crypto.com Ruby Steel1.5%, capped at $750/mo$500 of CRO staked 12 months$4.99/mo or $49.90/yr
Crypto.com Jade Green2.5%, capped at $1,500/mo$5,000 of CRO staked 12 months$29.99/mo or $299.90/yr
Crypto.com Obsidian4.5% to $5,000/mo, then 1%$500,000 of CRO staked 12 monthsNot stated
KAST Private3%, capped at $200,000The $10,000 annual fee$10,000/yr
ether.fi CashBy membership level, 5% on travelMembership tierNot stated
BenPay Alpha, Sigma, DeltaNoneNo staking, no token, no minimum$0, $1/mo, $1/mo

Custody, fees and coverage

CardCustodyFX feeATM feeAvailability
KASTPartner custody, Fireblocks and BitGoNot statedCharged, amount not stated170+ countries
MetaMask CardNon-custodialNo foreign transaction fee on metal cardNot stated40+ countries, US and UK signups paused
Nexo CardNot stated0.2% EEA/UK/CH weekdays, 2% rest of world2% after allowance, min €1.99Selected European countries, EEA and UK
Crypto.comCustodialNot stated$200 to $1,000/mo free by tierNot stated on the page
ether.fi CashFully non-custodialNot statedNot statedVaries by region
BenPay AlphaSelf-custodial1.5%, min $0.01Not stated10 exclusions
BenPay SigmaSelf-custodial$0.5 flat per non-USD transactionNot stated12 exclusions
BenPay DeltaSelf-custodial1.5%Not stated1 exclusion

Read the third column of the first table before the second one. Ranked by headline rate the order runs Crypto.com Obsidian, KAST Private, Crypto.com Jade Green. Ranked by what is reachable without committing capital, the field collapses to three: KAST Standard at 1.5%, MetaMask Card at 1%, and Crypto.com’s free tier at 0%. A 4.5% rate priced in half a million dollars of a volatile token locked for twelve months is a different product from a 1.5% rate priced at nothing, and the two do not belong on the same scale.

The second table adds a split the first one hides. Nexo’s 0.2% is the lowest percentage FX rate here and applies in the narrowest territory. Sigma’s charge is not a percentage at all, and above roughly $34 per non-USD transaction a flat $0.50 costs less than any rate in the column.

📌 On cashback caps: Several rates here stop applying above a monthly ceiling. Crypto.com’s 4.5% tier pays that rate to $5,000 of monthly spending and 1% after, and its 3.5% tier drops to 0.5%. A headline rate and an effective rate diverge quickly for anyone spending above the cap.

The nine cards

1. KAST Standard

The highest cashback rate in this ranking that requires nothing to unlock.

KAST issues Visa Platinum on its Standard tier and Visa Infinite above it, with custody handled through Fireblocks and BitGo. The Standard tier is free and pays 1.5% uncapped, which makes it the highest reachable rate here for a holder unwilling to stake a token or meet a portfolio minimum. Coverage is stated at 170+ countries, the widest in this comparison.

Best for: Holders who want cashback without locking capital

Custody model: Partner custody through Fireblocks and BitGo

Fees: Free at Standard, $1,000/yr at Premium, $10,000/yr at Private

Strengths

  • 1.5% uncapped on the free tier, with no staking or minimum stated.
  • 170+ countries, the broadest stated coverage here.
  • Custody partners are named rather than described generically.

Limitations

  • FX fee, ATM fee and top-up fee are not published on the main product page.
  • Higher rates are bought with annual fees of $1,000 and $10,000 rather than earned.
  • Partner custody means the holder does not control keys directly.

2. MetaMask Card

Non-custodial, with the widest token and network coverage and a zero FX line on one card type.

MetaMask Card converts at the point of payment rather than at a top-up, and states that holders keep custody of funds until the moment of payment. It pays 1% on the virtual card and 3% on the first $10,000 on the metal card with no stated precondition, and states no foreign transaction fee on the metal card, the single zero in the FX column here. Supported assets run to mUSD, USDC, USDT, wETH, EURe and GBPe across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana.

Best for: Holders who want assets in a wallet until the moment of purchase

Custody model: Non-custodial

Fees: Minimal per-transaction fee, amount not stated; no foreign transaction fee on the metal card

Strengths

  • Six assets across four networks, the widest range in this comparison.
  • Cashback with no stated staking, portfolio or annual fee requirement.
  • No foreign transaction fee stated on the metal card.

Limitations

  • Signups in the United States and United Kingdom were temporarily closed at the time of writing.
  • The per-transaction conversion fee is described rather than quantified.
  • Coverage of 40+ countries is narrower than KAST’s figure.

3. Nexo Card

The lowest percentage FX rate here, in the narrowest territory, behind a portfolio minimum.

Nexo issues a card with switchable credit and debit modes and charges no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. Its FX rate is 0.2% inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland on weekdays, rising to 0.7% at weekends and to 2% and 2.5% respectively elsewhere, a geographic and weekday split that few issuers publish at all. Cashback of up to 2% in NEXO tokens or 0.5% in BTC requires a $5,000 portfolio, as does the physical card.

Best for: Holders spending inside Europe who already hold a portfolio with the platform

Custody model: Not stated on the product page

Fees: No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; ATM 2% after a free allowance of €200 to €2,000 per month by tier, minimum €1.99

Strengths

  • 0.2% weekday FX inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland, the lowest percentage rate in this ranking.
  • No monthly, annual or inactivity fee at any level.
  • Free ATM allowances published by tier.

Limitations

  • Availability is limited to selected European countries, the EEA and the UK.
  • Cashback and the physical card both need a $5,000 portfolio.
  • FX rises to 2.5% outside Europe at weekends, the highest figure in this comparison.

4. BenPay Alpha

Zero on both fixed costs, with percentage pricing on everything variable.

Alpha charges no monthly fee and a 0% top-up fee, so stablecoins reach the card at face value and an idle card costs nothing. Spending is charged at 1% per transaction with 1.5% added on any transaction not settled in USD, which makes it the cheapest tier here to hold and the most expensive of the three for frequent overseas use. Card issuance is currently $0 as a limited-time promotion against a $29.9 list price, the approval rate is listed at 88%, and the total card limit is $200,000.

Best for: Holders loading infrequently and spending mainly in USD

Custody model: Self-custodial, private keys stay with the holder

Fees: 0% top-up, 1% spending, 1.5% cross-border with a $0.01 minimum, $0 monthly

Strengths

  • The single 0% top-up fee here, so the full balance reaches the card.
  • No monthly or annual fee, which suits irregular use.
  • Lists Apple Pay, Google Pay and Alipay on the card application page.

5. BenPay Delta

Flat authorization fees rather than percentages, which stops the cost scaling with the basket.

Delta charges $1 per month and 0.5% to top up. The live application page shows a $0.05 authorization fee per USD transaction and a $0.40 authorization fee plus 1.5% on non-USD transactions. The same page shows no card-total cap and a 98% application success rate.

Best for: Frequent USD spending, including online services and subscriptions

Custody model: Self-custodial, private keys stay with the holder

Fees: 0.5% top-up, $0.05 USD authorization, $0.40 non-USD authorization plus 1.5% cross-border, $1 monthly, 0.5% refund, $0.50 per declined transaction

Strengths

  • The lowest per-transaction cost here on USD purchases, and it does not rise with the amount.
  • Excluded in a single jurisdiction, the narrowest exclusion list in this ranking.
  • No fixed total card limit.

6. BenPay Sigma

A flat cross-border charge, which is the whole reason to accept its higher loading cost.

Sigma charges $1 per month and 1.5% to top up, the highest loading cost of the three tiers. Its cross-border charge is a flat $0.50 per non-USD transaction rather than a percentage, so the cross-border cost of a $5,000 purchase is the same as on a $50 one. Each Sigma card also retains 1U in balance permanently as an activation guarantee, which cannot be withdrawn and is not returned on cancellation, and three consecutive months of unpaid monthly fees result in forced cancellation.

Best for: Large or frequent non-USD purchases, particularly across Asia

Custody model: Self-custodial, private keys stay with the holder

Fees: 1.5% top-up, 0.5% spending with a $0.5 minimum, $0.5 flat cross-border, $1 monthly, $2 refund

Strengths

  • Flat cross-border charge, cheaper than any percentage here above roughly $34 per transaction.
  • Lists both Alipay and WeChat Pay on the card application page.
  • No fixed total card limit.

7. Crypto.com

The deepest tier ladder in the category, priced in staked tokens rather than in fees.

Crypto.com runs five prepaid Visa tiers from Midnight Blue at 0% cashback and no fee, up to Obsidian at 4.5%. Every rate above the free tier is conditioned on CRO staked for twelve months, from $500 at Ruby Steel to $500,000 at Obsidian, which converts a rewards decision into a token exposure decision. Free ATM allowances run from $200 to $1,000 per month against caps of $5,000 to $10,000.

Best for: Holders already holding CRO who spend within the monthly cashback caps

Custody model: Custodial, balances held on the platform

Fees: $0 to $29.99 per month by tier; FX not stated on the cards page

Strengths

  • The highest headline rates in this comparison.
  • Published free ATM allowances at every tier.
  • The free tier carries no fee at all for holders who do not want rewards.

Limitations

  • Rates above the free tier require CRO staked for twelve months, exposing the holder to token price risk.
  • Cashback is capped monthly, with the top tier dropping from 4.5% to 1% above $5,000.
  • Custodial structure means a platform action affects access to the balance.

8. ether.fi Cash

Fully non-custodial, against the broadest asset base here, with rewards tied to membership.

ether.fi Cash runs against a personal account covering 250+ assets including crypto, cash, stocks and tokenized instruments. It is described as fully non-custodial, with holders retaining ownership and control of funds, and cashback set by membership level with 5% back on travel booked through its own service. The product page states that ether.fi is not a regulated financial institution and that the card is issued under separate terms by its issuer.

Best for: Holders wanting card access against a wide asset base without giving up custody

Custody model: Fully non-custodial

Fees: Not stated on the product page

Strengths

  • 250+ supported assets, far beyond the stablecoin-only range here.
  • Full non-custody stated explicitly.
  • 5% back on travel booked through its own service.

Limitations

  • Fee schedule, FX and ATM costs are not published on the product page.
  • Cashback rates are tied to membership level rather than published as a single figure.
  • The page states ether.fi is not a regulated financial institution.

Also considered. Gnosis Pay issues a Visa debit card through Monavate Limited and now routes consumer access through partner applications, with card terms published in those apps rather than on the main product page, so it could not be assessed on the standards above.

Regional availability, which differs by tier

CardNot available in
BenPay AlphaAfghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russian Federation, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Crimea region of Ukraine
BenPay SigmaAfghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Russian Federation, Somalia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen
BenPay DeltaSingapore
NexoAvailable in selected European countries, the EEA and the UK only
MetaMask Card40+ countries, with US and UK signups temporarily closed
KAST170+ countries stated, exclusions not published

Exclusion lists are set per card rather than per issuer, so a holder can qualify for one tier and be refused another in the same country. Sigma excludes Ukraine in full where Alpha excludes only Crimea, and adds Myanmar, Somalia and Yemen. Check this before any fee comparison, since a card that cannot be issued has no fee to compare.

Which card fits which situation

  • Highest cashback reachable without locking capital: KAST Standard at 1.5% uncapped and free
  • Cashback with self-custody: MetaMask Card at 1% on the virtual card
  • Highest headline rate, accepting the lock-up: Crypto.com Obsidian at 4.5%, capped monthly and priced at $500,000 of staked CRO
  • AI subscriptions and online services: BenPay Delta, whose live application page lists a $1 monthly fee and a $0.05 USD authorization fee per transaction
  • Occasional use with large top-ups: BenPay Alpha, at 0% to load and $0 to hold
  • Travel built around a few large payments: BenPay Sigma, cheapest above the $34 crossover
  • Spending inside Europe: Nexo at 0.2% on weekdays, subject to its $5,000 portfolio for cashback
  • Spending in mainland China: BenPay Sigma, the tier listing both Alipay and WeChat Pay
  • Widest country coverage: KAST at 170+
  • No staking, no token, no minimum: any BenPay tier, which pays nothing back in exchange

Frequently asked questions

Which crypto card has the best cashback?

On headline rate, Crypto.com’s Obsidian tier at 4.5%, which requires $500,000 of CRO staked for twelve months and drops to 1% above $5,000 of monthly spending. On rates reachable without committing capital, KAST Standard at 1.5% uncapped, followed by ether.fi Cash and MetaMask Card at 1%.

Do all crypto cards require staking?

No. Crypto.com gates its rates behind staked CRO and Nexo behind a $5,000 portfolio, while KAST Standard, MetaMask Card and all three BenPay tiers state no such requirement. BenPay pays no cashback in exchange for that.

What fees do crypto cards charge besides the annual fee?

A top-up or conversion fee on the way in, a per-transaction spending or authorization fee, a cross-border fee on non-USD transactions, ATM withdrawal fees above a free allowance, and on some cards refund and declined-transaction fees. BenPay’s schedule lists each per tier.

Is there a spending limit on crypto cards?

It varies. BenPay Alpha carries a $200,000 total card limit, while the live application page displays no total-card limit for Sigma or Delta. Transaction-level limits are separate and set by the issuer and the merchant.

Is a self-custodial card safer than an exchange card?

It relocates the risk. Private keys stay with the holder, so a platform action cannot move the assets, and losing the keys loses the funds. BenPay operates under FinCEN MSB registration 31000260888727 with on-chain contracts audited by SlowMist.

What to settle before comparing rates

Decide whether cashback is worth committing capital, because that answer removes most of this field either way. If it is, the question becomes how much and for how long, and Crypto.com’s ladder is the clearest expression of the trade. If it is not, the comparison reduces to fee structure and country coverage.

Data verified: 2026-09-08 from each issuer’s own product pages, and from the BenPay card application page and help centre. Fields marked as not stated were not published on the pages checked. Promotional rates are subject to change.