Lists of stablecoin card providers routinely put consumer cards and enterprise card-issuing platforms side by side, which is why two of the five names on one widely ranked list cannot be signed up for at all. Rain describes itself as a stablecoin payments platform for enterprise and Yellow Card as a system built for banks and corporates, while KAST, MetaMask and BenPay issue cards a person can actually hold. Among the cards that do reach individuals, the difference that decides cost is where the stablecoin gets converted, at the top-up or at the till. This ranking compares eight Web3 debit cards that spend stablecoins without manual conversion, on conversion point, supported tokens and total cost.
How these were ranked
Entry requirement first. A card has to be something an individual can apply for and hold. Platforms that issue cards on behalf of businesses are a different product, and they are covered separately further down rather than ranked here.
Five standards then decide the order.
Where the conversion happens. At the top-up, at the point of payment, or on a platform balance before spending. This sets which fee actually carries the conversion cost.
Conversion cost. The published figure for turning stablecoins into spendable balance, whichever of the three points it is charged at.
Supported stablecoins and networks. Which tokens the card accepts, and on which chains, listed separately because a card supporting USDC on one network is not the same as one supporting it on four.
Custody model. Self-custodial, non-custodial, or platform-held, which determines who controls the assets before they are spent.
Value reachable without committing capital. Cashback net of any staking, portfolio minimum or annual fee attached to it.
Eight cards compared
Stablecoins, conversion point and custody
| Card | Supported stablecoins and assets | Where conversion happens | Conversion cost | Custody |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask Card | mUSD, USDC, USDT, wETH, EURe, GBPe on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana | At payment | Minimal per-transaction fee, amount not stated | Non-custodial |
| KAST Standard | Stablecoins, list published on its support pages | On the platform | Not stated | Partner custody, Fireblocks and BitGo |
| BenPay Alpha | USDT, USDC | At top-up, to BUSD | 0% | Self-custodial |
| BenPay Delta | USDT, USDC | At top-up, to BUSD | 0.5% | Self-custodial |
| BenPay Sigma | USDT, USDC | At top-up, to BUSD | 1.5% | Self-custodial |
| Nexo Card | Platform balances, credit and debit modes | On the platform | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto.com | Platform balances | On the platform | Not stated | Custodial |
| ether.fi Cash | 250+ assets including crypto, cash, stocks and tokenized instruments | Against a personal account | Not stated | Fully non-custodial |
Holding cost, rewards and coverage
| Card | Recurring fee | Cashback | What the cashback requires | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask Card | Not stated | 1% virtual, 3% on first $10,000 metal | Nothing stated | 40+ countries, US and UK signups paused |
| KAST Standard | Free | 1.5%, uncapped | Nothing beyond the free tier | 170+ countries |
| BenPay Alpha | $0 | None | No staking, no token, no minimum | 10 exclusions |
| BenPay Delta | $1/mo | None | Same | 1 exclusion |
| BenPay Sigma | $1/mo | None | Same | 12 exclusions |
| Nexo Card | None | Up to 2% in NEXO, or 0.5% in BTC | $5,000 portfolio minimum | Selected European countries, EEA and UK |
| Crypto.com | $0 to $29.99/mo by tier | 0% to 4.5% by tier | $500 to $500,000 of CRO staked 12 months | Not stated on the page |
| ether.fi Cash | Not stated | By membership level | Membership tier | Varies by region |
The conversion cost column is the single one in the first table with published numbers across a full set of rows, and that itself is the finding. Three BenPay tiers publish 0%, 0.5% and 1.5%. Every other card in this comparison either folds the conversion into an unquantified per-transaction fee or does not publish it at all. For a product category whose entire premise is converting stablecoins on the holder’s behalf, that is a wide gap in disclosure.
Read the second table alongside it rather than after it. Alpha converts at 0% and pays nothing back. KAST Standard pays 1.5% and does not publish what conversion costs. On $1,000 loaded, Alpha’s known cost is zero and KAST’s is unknown against a known 1.5% return, which is a comparison between a published figure and an unpublished one rather than between two numbers.
📌 On the phrase auto-convert: It describes who performs the swap, not whether one happens. Every card here converts. The useful comparison is the total of the conversion cost and the per-transaction fee, and a card that publishes neither has not answered the question.
The eight cards
1. MetaMask Card
Converts at the till rather than at a top-up, across the widest token and network range here.
MetaMask Card leaves assets in the wallet until a purchase happens and states that holders keep custody of funds until the moment of payment. It accepts mUSD, USDC, USDT, wETH, EURe and GBPe across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, six assets on four networks, which is the broadest coverage in this comparison. Cashback is 1% on the virtual card and 3% on the first $10,000 on the metal card, with no stated precondition.
Best for: Holders who want assets working elsewhere until the moment of purchase
Custody model: Non-custodial
Fees: Minimal per-transaction fee, amount not stated; no foreign transaction fee on the metal card
Strengths
- Six assets across four networks, more than any other card here.
- Conversion at payment means nothing sits pre-loaded on a card.
- Cashback with no staking, portfolio or annual fee attached.
Limitations
- The per-transaction conversion fee is described rather than quantified.
- Signups in the United States and United Kingdom were temporarily closed at the time of writing.
- Converting at payment means the cost is unknown until the transaction settles.
2. KAST Standard
The highest reachable cashback here, against an unpublished conversion cost.
KAST issues Visa Platinum on its free Standard tier with custody handled through Fireblocks and BitGo, and states coverage across 170+ countries. The Standard tier pays 1.5% uncapped with nothing to unlock, which is the highest rate in this comparison available without staking a token or meeting a minimum. Its supported stablecoin list is published on its support pages rather than on the main product page.
Best for: Holders who want cashback on stablecoin spending without locking capital
Custody model: Partner custody through Fireblocks and BitGo
Fees: Free at Standard; conversion, FX and ATM costs not published on the main page
Strengths
- 1.5% uncapped on a free tier.
- 170+ countries, the broadest stated coverage here.
- Named institutional custody partners rather than a generic description.
Limitations
- Conversion cost, FX fee and ATM fee are not published on the main product page.
- Partner custody means keys are not held by the cardholder.
- Higher rates are bought with annual fees of $1,000 and $10,000.
3. BenPay Alpha
The single 0% conversion cost here, so the full stablecoin balance reaches the card.
Alpha bridges USDT and USDC to BUSD as part of the top-up, and BUSD is the BenFen native stablecoin minted one to one against USDT and USDC. Loading $1,000 of USDT credits $1,000, because the top-up fee is 0% and the conversion is covered by it. Spending is charged at 1% per transaction with 1.5% added on non-USD transactions, and the card carries no monthly fee.
Best for: Holders loading large amounts who spend mainly in USD
Custody model: Self-custodial, private keys stay with the holder
Fees: 0% top-up, 1% spending, 1.5% cross-border with a $0.01 minimum, $0 monthly
Strengths
- 0% conversion cost, the single published zero in this comparison.
- No monthly fee, so an idle card costs nothing.
- Lists Apple Pay, Google Pay and Alipay on the card application page.
4. BenPay Delta
Converts at 0.5% and then stops charging by percentage entirely.
Delta’s live application page shows a 0.5% top-up fee. Spending is a flat $0.05 authorization fee per USD transaction, so a $2,000 purchase costs the same $0.05 as a $20 one. Non-USD transactions carry a $0.40 authorization fee plus 1.5% cross-border.
Best for: Frequent USD spending from a stablecoin balance
Custody model: Self-custodial, private keys stay with the holder
Fees: 0.5% top-up, $0.05 USD authorization, $0.4 non-USD authorization plus 1.5% cross-border, $1 monthly, $0.5 per declined transaction
Strengths
- The lowest per-transaction cost here on USD purchases, and it does not scale with the amount.
- Excluded in one jurisdiction only, the narrowest exclusion list in this comparison.
- No fixed total card limit.
5. BenPay Sigma
The highest conversion cost of the three tiers, bought back on cross-border volume.
Sigma charges 1.5% to bridge USDT or USDC to BUSD, the highest loading cost here. Its cross-border charge is a flat $0.50 per non-USD transaction rather than a percentage, which recovers the loading cost once non-USD volume is high enough. Each Sigma card also retains 1U in balance permanently as an activation guarantee, which cannot be withdrawn and is not returned on cancellation.
Best for: Stablecoin holders spending large amounts outside USD
Custody model: Self-custodial, private keys stay with the holder
Fees: 1.5% top-up, 0.5% spending with a $0.5 minimum, $0.5 flat cross-border, $1 monthly, $2 refund
Strengths
- Flat cross-border charge, cheaper than any percentage here above roughly $34 per transaction.
- Lists both Alipay and WeChat Pay on the card application page.
- No fixed total card limit.
6. Nexo Card
Converts on the platform, with the lowest published FX rate inside Europe.
Nexo runs conversion against platform balances with switchable credit and debit modes, and charges no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. Its FX rate is 0.2% inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland on weekdays, rising to 0.7% at weekends and to 2% and 2.5% respectively elsewhere. Cashback of up to 2% requires a $5,000 portfolio.
Best for: European holders who already keep a balance with the platform
Custody model: Not stated on the product page
Fees: No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; ATM 2% after €200 to €2,000 free per month by tier
Strengths
- 0.2% weekday FX inside Europe, the lowest percentage rate here.
- No recurring fee at any level.
- Published ATM allowances by tier.
Limitations
- Conversion cost from stablecoins is not published.
- Available in selected European countries, the EEA and the UK only.
- Cashback requires a $5,000 portfolio, and FX reaches 2.5% outside Europe at weekends.
7. Crypto.com
Converts on a custodial platform balance, with rewards priced in staked tokens.
Crypto.com converts platform balances before spending, which means the assets sit with the platform rather than the holder first. Every cashback rate above its free tier is conditioned on CRO staked for twelve months, from $500 at Ruby Steel to $500,000 at Obsidian, so the rewards decision is a token exposure decision. Free ATM allowances run from $200 to $1,000 per month.
Best for: Holders already holding CRO who spend within the monthly caps
Custody model: Custodial, balances held on the platform
Fees: $0 to $29.99 per month by tier; conversion and FX not stated on the cards page
Strengths
- The highest headline cashback rates in this comparison.
- Published free ATM allowances at every tier.
- A free tier with no fee for holders who do not want rewards.
Limitations
- Conversion cost from stablecoins is not published.
- Rates above the free tier require CRO staked for twelve months.
- Custodial structure means a platform action affects access to the balance.
8. ether.fi Cash
Fully non-custodial against the broadest asset base, with the thinnest fee disclosure.
ether.fi Cash runs against a personal account covering 250+ assets including crypto, cash, stocks and tokenized instruments. It is described as fully non-custodial, with holders retaining ownership and control of funds, and the product page states that ether.fi is not a regulated financial institution and that the card is issued under separate terms by its issuer. Cashback is set by membership level, with 5% back on travel booked through its own service.
Best for: Holders wanting card access against a wide asset base without giving up custody
Custody model: Fully non-custodial
Fees: Not stated on the product page
Strengths
- 250+ supported assets, far beyond the stablecoin-only range of most cards here.
- Full non-custody stated explicitly.
- 5% back on travel booked through its own service.
Limitations
- Conversion cost, FX and ATM fees are not published.
- Cashback is tied to membership level rather than published as a rate.
- The page states ether.fi is not a regulated financial institution.
Providers that are not consumer cards
Two names that appear on stablecoin card rankings issue cards for businesses rather than to individuals, and mixing them into a consumer comparison produces a list a reader cannot act on.
Rain describes itself as a “Stablecoin payments platform for enterprise” helping “companies launch stablecoin-powered cards, manage digital dollar accounts, and move money across borders.” Its disclaimer states that Rain and its affiliates are not banks, exchanges or asset custodians.
Yellow Card describes itself as “the complete infrastructure enabling banks, financial institutions, corporates, and other businesses to access, store, send, and manage Stablecoins,” with 60+ countries supported across emerging markets.
Both are card-issuing platforms rather than cards, which puts them a layer above every product ranked above. An individual cannot compare them on conversion cost or cashback because neither sells to individuals. They belong in a comparison of card-issuing platforms, and a ranking that lists them beside a consumer Visa card is grading two different things on one scale.
What a stablecoin passes through
Three events occur between wallet and merchant, and only two of them appear in any fee table.
The token moves on-chain. Loading a card is a blockchain transaction, so a network fee applies and is charged by the network rather than by the issuer. On a congested network this can exceed the conversion fee on a small load, which reverses the ranking for anyone loading in small amounts. Fewer, larger loads spread that cost.
The token is converted. On BenPay, USDT and USDC are bridged to BUSD as part of the top-up, covered by the top-up fee. Transfers are supported from nine networks into BenFen with settlement in minutes, so the source network is a choice at the point of loading.
The settlement unit reaches the merchant. The transaction fee and, on non-USD purchases, the cross-border fee are charged at authorization.
Which card fits which holder
- Lowest published conversion cost: BenPay Alpha at 0%, the single published zero here
- Widest token and network range: MetaMask Card, six assets on four networks
- Highest cashback without a lock-up: KAST Standard at 1.5% uncapped and free
- Keeping assets in a wallet until payment: MetaMask Card or ether.fi Cash, both converting at the till
- Frequent small USD purchases: BenPay Delta at $0.05 per authorization
- Large non-USD spending: BenPay Sigma, where a flat $0.5 beats a percentage above roughly $34
- European spending from a platform balance: Nexo at 0.2% on weekdays
- Issuing cards for a business rather than holding one: Rain or Yellow Card, neither of which is a consumer product
Frequently asked questions
Can USDT be spent directly at a merchant?
Not literally, since merchants settle in fiat. Cards in this category accept USDT as the funding asset and convert it at top-up, at payment or on a platform balance, which removes the manual swap without removing the conversion.
Which stablecoins do these cards accept?
USDC and USDT are the common pair. MetaMask Card adds mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe across four networks, and ether.fi Cash covers 250+ assets. BenPay accepts USDT and USDC, bridging both to BUSD at top-up.
What is BUSD?
BUSD is the BenFen native stablecoin, minted one to one against USDT and USDC. Loading a BenPay card bridges USDT or USDC to BUSD as part of the top-up, and the holder does not perform that step.
Is a swap fee charged on top of the conversion fee?
On BenPay the conversion is covered by the top-up fee, at 0%, 0.5% or 1.5% by tier. The on-chain network fee for the transfer is charged by the network and is separate from any issuer fee, on every card here.
Why do some stablecoin card lists include companies I cannot sign up with?
Because they mix consumer cards with businesses that issue cards for other companies. Rain and Yellow Card both describe themselves as built for businesses rather than individuals, so neither can be compared on cardholder terms.
The figure that is missing from most of these pages
For a product whose entire job is converting stablecoins, most issuers here do not publish what that conversion costs. Three tiers of one issuer do, at 0%, 0.5% and 1.5%, and the rest fold it into an unquantified per-transaction fee. Before comparing cashback rates, it is worth asking each issuer for the conversion figure in writing, because a 1.5% reward against an unknown cost is not a comparison at all.
Data verified: 2026-09-09 from each issuer’s own product pages, and from the BenPay card application page and help centre. Fields marked as not stated were not published on the pages checked.

