{"id":3077,"date":"2026-09-11T11:40:14","date_gmt":"2026-09-11T03:40:14","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/how-crypto-card-fees-are-collected\/"},"modified":"2026-09-11T11:40:14","modified_gmt":"2026-09-11T03:40:14","slug":"how-crypto-card-fees-are-collected","status":"publish","type":"post","link":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/how-crypto-card-fees-are-collected\/","title":{"rendered":"How Are the Recharge Fees, Annual Fees, Transaction Fees and FX Fees for Crypto Cards Collected?"},"content":{"rendered":"\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Fee tables publish rates without saying when the money leaves, which is why cards with similar headline numbers produce very different statements. <strong>The four fees are collected at four separate moments on four different bases, and a fifth cost sits outside all of them: the capital several issuers require to be staked before their advertised rate applies at all.<\/strong> This article sets out how crypto card fees are collected across nine cards, and how to total a real month of spending.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The four collection points<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-table\"><table><thead><tr><th>Fee<\/th><th>When it is charged<\/th><th>What it is calculated on<\/th><th>How it appears<\/th><\/tr><\/thead><tbody><tr><td>Top-up or conversion<\/td><td>When crypto becomes spendable balance<\/td><td>The amount being loaded, or the amount being spent on cards that convert at payment<\/td><td>Deducted from the load, so the card credits less than was sent<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Monthly or annual<\/td><td>On a fixed schedule while the card is open<\/td><td>Nothing, it is flat<\/td><td>Deducted from the balance whether or not the card is used<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Transaction or authorization<\/td><td>At the moment a purchase is authorized<\/td><td>A percentage of the purchase, or a flat amount per transaction<\/td><td>Added to the purchase<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Cross-border or FX<\/td><td>At authorization, on non-base-currency transactions<\/td><td>A percentage, or a flat amount per transaction<\/td><td>Added alongside the transaction fee<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>The collection point decides how the fee behaves, not the rate.<\/strong> A top-up fee is paid once per load regardless of how many purchases follow. A transaction fee is paid on every purchase, so a card with a low top-up fee and a high transaction fee gets more expensive the more it is used. The two answer different questions and cannot be compared in the abstract.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">A fifth cost applies on several cards and is not a fee at all. <a href=\"https:\/\/crypto.com\/en\/cards\" rel=\"nofollow noopener\" target=\"_blank\">Crypto.com<\/a>, <a href=\"https:\/\/nexo.com\/nexo-card\" rel=\"nofollow noopener\" target=\"_blank\">Nexo<\/a> and <a href=\"https:\/\/www.kast.xyz\/\" rel=\"nofollow noopener\" target=\"_blank\">KAST<\/a> each condition their advertised cashback on something committed up front, which is capital cost rather than fee cost and does not appear in any fee table.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Where each card charges, side by side<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-table\"><table><thead><tr><th>Card<\/th><th>Top-up or conversion<\/th><th>Recurring fee<\/th><th>Transaction fee<\/th><th>FX fee<\/th><\/tr><\/thead><tbody><tr><td>BenPay Alpha<\/td><td>0%<\/td><td>$0<\/td><td>1%<\/td><td>1.5%, min $0.01<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>BenPay Sigma<\/td><td>1.5%<\/td><td>$1\/mo<\/td><td>0.5%, min $0.5<\/td><td>$0.5 flat per non-USD transaction<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>BenPay Delta<\/td><td>0.5%<\/td><td>$1\/mo<\/td><td>$0.05 per USD authorization, $0.40 per non-USD<\/td><td>1.5%<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Nexo<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>No monthly, annual or inactivity fee<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>0.2% EEA\/UK\/CH weekdays, 2% rest of world<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>MetaMask Card<\/td><td>Converts at payment, minimal per-transaction fee<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>Not stated separately<\/td><td>No foreign transaction fee on the metal card<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Crypto.com Ruby Steel<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>$4.99\/mo or $49.90\/yr<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Crypto.com Jade Green<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>$29.99\/mo or $299.90\/yr<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>KAST Standard<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>Free<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>KAST Private<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>$10,000\/yr<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><td>Not stated<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">ATM fees and the capital each issuer requires before its advertised cashback applies are covered in their own sections below, since neither fits a fee-timing comparison.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Two things stand out from the blank cells rather than the filled ones.<\/strong> Most issuers in this category publish a cashback rate prominently and a fee schedule sparsely, which is why so many cells above read as not stated. And the recurring-fee column contains three different pricing philosophies: nothing at all, a small monthly charge, and an annual fee large enough to be a purchase decision in its own right.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">BenPay publishes all four fee lines per tier, and pays no cashback. Nexo publishes FX in unusual detail, including a weekend surcharge that few issuers disclose at all.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The top-up fee, charged on the way in<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Loading a card is a conversion event and the fee comes out of the amount being loaded rather than being billed separately.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">At BenPay&#8217;s rates, loading $1,000 credits $1,000 on Alpha, $995 on Delta and $985 on Sigma. <strong>The fee is a percentage, so load frequency does not change the total: four loads of $250 cost the same as one of $1,000.<\/strong> Where an issuer charges a flat amount per load instead, the opposite holds and fewer larger loads are cheaper.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><a href=\"https:\/\/metamask.io\/card\" rel=\"nofollow noopener\" target=\"_blank\">MetaMask Card<\/a> moves this step to the moment of payment rather than the moment of loading, which removes the load fee from the comparison and puts the whole cost on the per-transaction line.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The recurring fee, charged for holding rather than using<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">This one accrues whether or not the card is touched.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Alpha charges $0 per month, while Sigma and Delta each charge $1 per month. The live application page is the current fee source.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Twelve dollars a year is immaterial next to a percentage fee on real volume, and it is the entire cost of a card that sits idle.<\/strong> At the other end, a $10,000 annual fee needs roughly $333,000 of spending at 3% cashback simply to break even against a free 1.5% card, which is the arithmetic that decides whether a premium tier is a product or a status purchase.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The transaction fee, charged per purchase on two bases<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">This is where the market genuinely splits.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Percentage fees scale with the purchase. Flat authorization fees do not.<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-table\"><table><thead><tr><th>Purchase<\/th><th>Alpha at 1%<\/th><th>Sigma at 0.5%, min $0.5<\/th><th>Delta at $0.05 USD authorization<\/th><\/tr><\/thead><tbody><tr><td>$20 USD<\/td><td>$0.20<\/td><td>$0.50<\/td><td>$0.05<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>$200 USD<\/td><td>$2.00<\/td><td>$1.00<\/td><td>$0.05<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>$2,000 USD<\/td><td>$20.00<\/td><td>$10.00<\/td><td>$0.05<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Delta&#8217;s live application page uses a fixed $0.05 authorization fee for USD purchases. Sigma&#8217;s $0.5 minimum makes it the most expensive of the three on a $20 purchase and the middle option on a $2,000 one.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The FX fee, charged only on non-base-currency transactions<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">This is the fee discovered after the fact, because it is invisible domestically and appears on every line of a travel statement.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-table\"><table><thead><tr><th>Non-USD purchase<\/th><th>Alpha 1.5%<\/th><th>Sigma $0.5 flat<\/th><th>Delta $0.40 + 1.5%<\/th><th>Nexo 2% rest of world<\/th><th>Nexo 0.2% EEA weekday<\/th><\/tr><\/thead><tbody><tr><td>$50<\/td><td>$0.75<\/td><td>$0.50<\/td><td>$1.15<\/td><td>$1.00<\/td><td>$0.10<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>$500<\/td><td>$7.50<\/td><td>$0.50<\/td><td>$7.90<\/td><td>$10.00<\/td><td>$1.00<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>$5,000<\/td><td>$75.00<\/td><td>$0.50<\/td><td>$75.40<\/td><td>$100.00<\/td><td>$10.00<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>The crossover between a flat $0.50 and a 1.5% rate sits at roughly $34, and the gap after that grows without limit.<\/strong> Nexo&#8217;s geographic split is the other structure worth noting: 0.2% inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland on a weekday is the lowest rate in this comparison, and 2.5% elsewhere at a weekend is the highest.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">MetaMask states no foreign transaction fee on its metal card, which is the single zero in this column.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">\ud83d\udccc <strong>On weekend pricing:<\/strong> <em>Nexo raises its FX rate at weekends, from 0.2% to 0.7% inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland and from 2% to 2.5% elsewhere. Few issuers publish a weekend differential, and fewer readers check for one.<\/em><\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The fees below the headline table<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Five charges appear only when something is reversed, declined or withdrawn.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<ul class=\"wp-block-list\">\n\n<li><strong>ATM withdrawal.<\/strong> Nexo charges 2% after a free allowance that runs from \u20ac200 to \u20ac2,000 per month by loyalty tier, with a \u20ac1.99 minimum. Crypto.com sets free allowances from $200 to $1,000 monthly against caps of $5,000 to $10,000. BenPay does not publish an ATM fee on the pages checked.<\/li>\n\n\n<li><strong>Refund fee.<\/strong> Sigma charges $2 per refunded transaction. Delta&#8217;s live application page lists a 0.5% refund fee.<\/li>\n\n\n<li><strong>Declined transaction fee.<\/strong> Delta&#8217;s live application page lists $0.50 per failed transaction.<\/li>\n\n\n<li><strong>Card issuance.<\/strong> The current card description directs applicants to the application page for real-time pricing.<\/li>\n\n\n<li><strong>Network gas.<\/strong> Moving stablecoins on-chain is charged by the network, not the issuer, and appears in no fee table anywhere.<\/li>\n\n<\/ul>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">A real month, totalled<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">$1,000 loaded, 20 transactions, $600 of it non-USD across 6 transactions.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<ul class=\"wp-block-list\">\n\n<li><strong>Alpha:<\/strong> $0 top-up, $0 monthly, 1% of $1,000 is $10.00, 1.5% of $600 is $9.00. <strong>Total $19.00<\/strong><\/li>\n\n\n<li><strong>Sigma:<\/strong> $15.00 top-up, $1 monthly, 0.5% of $1,000 is $5.00, six non-USD transactions at $0.5 is $3.00. <strong>Total $24.00<\/strong><\/li>\n\n\n<li><strong>Delta:<\/strong> The live application page lists a 0.5% top-up fee, a $1 monthly fee, $0.05 USD authorization, $0.40 plus 1.5% for non-USD authorization, a 0.5% refund fee and a $0.50 declined-transaction fee. A total requires the actual mix of USD and non-USD settlement transactions.<\/li>\n\n<\/ul>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Change one input and the order changes.<\/strong> Raise non-USD spending to $3,000 across the same six transactions and Sigma falls to $24.00 while Alpha rises to $55.00. Delta then adds six non-USD authorization fees and must be totalled from the same application-page schedule. No general ranking of these fee structures exists, only a ranking against a specific spending pattern.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Frequently asked questions<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Is the top-up fee taken from the amount sent or added on top?<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Deducted from the amount being loaded, so the card credits the net figure. Sending $1,000 to a card charging 1.5% credits $985.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Which crypto card has the lowest fees?<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">It depends on the shape of the spending rather than on any single rate. Flat authorization fees win on large or frequent transactions, percentage fees win on small ones, and a card charging no monthly fee wins on a card that sits idle.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Do cashback cards work out cheaper overall?<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Only after the precondition is counted. Crypto.com&#8217;s rates require CRO staked for twelve months and Nexo&#8217;s require a $5,000 portfolio, so the comparison is between a fee saved and capital committed rather than between two fees.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>When is the FX fee charged?<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">At authorization, on transactions not settled in the card&#8217;s base currency. A merchant abroad that bills in USD does not trigger it on a USD-based card, and a domestic merchant billing in another currency does.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>What is an authorization fee?<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><a href=\"https:\/\/support.benpay.com\/zh\/docs\/you-na-ji-zhong-ka-pian-ke-gong-shen-qing-you-shu-liang-xian-zhi-ma\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">BenPay Delta<\/a> directs readers to the application page for real-time fees. The application page captured for this review lists a $0.05 USD authorization fee and a $1 monthly fee.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">The two numbers worth writing down<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Average transaction size and the share of spending settled outside the base currency decide which structure is cheaper, and both come from last month&#8217;s statement rather than from guesswork. Above roughly $34 per non-USD transaction a flat FX charge beats 1.5%, and above roughly $100 per transaction a flat authorization fee beats a 0.5% rate. Everything else in a fee table is secondary to those two thresholds.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Data verified:<\/strong> 2026-09-08 from each issuer&#8217;s own product pages and from the BenPay card application page and help centre. Fields marked as not stated were not published on the pages checked.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<!-- benpay-card-schema:faq-and-image -->\n<script type=\"application\/ld+json\">{\"@context\":\"https:\/\/schema.org\",\"@graph\":[{\"@type\":\"ImageObject\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/how-crypto-card-fees-are-collected\/#primaryimage\",\"url\":\"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/card-02-how-fees-are-collected.webp\",\"contentUrl\":\"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/card-02-how-fees-are-collected.webp\",\"width\":700,\"height\":467,\"caption\":\"How crypto-card fees are collected across top-ups, monthly charges and purchases\",\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\"},{\"@type\":\"FAQPage\",\"@id\":\"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/how-crypto-card-fees-are-collected\/#faq\",\"mainEntity\":[{\"@type\":\"Question\",\"name\":\"Is the top-up fee taken from the amount sent or added on top?\",\"acceptedAnswer\":{\"@type\":\"Answer\",\"text\":\"Deducted from the amount being loaded, so the card credits the net figure. Sending $1,000 to a card charging 1.5% credits $985.\"}},{\"@type\":\"Question\",\"name\":\"Which crypto card has the lowest fees?\",\"acceptedAnswer\":{\"@type\":\"Answer\",\"text\":\"It depends on the shape of the spending rather than on any single rate. Flat authorization fees win on large or frequent transactions, percentage fees win on small ones, and a card charging no monthly fee wins on a card that sits idle.\"}},{\"@type\":\"Question\",\"name\":\"Do cashback cards work out cheaper overall?\",\"acceptedAnswer\":{\"@type\":\"Answer\",\"text\":\"Only after the precondition is counted. Crypto.com's rates require CRO staked for twelve months and Nexo's require a $5,000 portfolio, so the comparison is between a fee saved and capital committed rather than between two fees.\"}},{\"@type\":\"Question\",\"name\":\"When is the FX fee charged?\",\"acceptedAnswer\":{\"@type\":\"Answer\",\"text\":\"At authorization, on transactions not settled in the card's base currency. A merchant abroad that bills in USD does not trigger it on a USD-based card, and a domestic merchant billing in another currency does.\"}},{\"@type\":\"Question\",\"name\":\"What is an authorization fee?\",\"acceptedAnswer\":{\"@type\":\"Answer\",\"text\":\"BenPay Delta directs readers to the application page for real-time fees. The application page captured for this review lists a $0.05 USD authorization fee and a $1 monthly fee.\"}}]}]}<\/script>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Top-up, annual, transaction and FX fees hit at four different moments. What each is charged on across nine cards, with worked totals on real spending.<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":2,"featured_media":3076,"comment_status":"","ping_status":"","sticky":false,"template":"","format":"standard","meta":{"footnotes":""},"categories":[185],"tags":[],"class_list":["post-3077","post","type-post","status-publish","format-standard","has-post-thumbnail","hentry","category-benpay-tutorials"],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/3077","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/post"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/2"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=3077"}],"version-history":[{"count":0,"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/3077\/revisions"}],"wp:featuredmedia":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media\/3076"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=3077"}],"wp:term":[{"taxonomy":"category","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/categories?post=3077"},{"taxonomy":"post_tag","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.benpay.com\/blog\/index.php\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/tags?post=3077"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}